The Journey Begins!

I’ve become an avid reader as I’ve grown older. I commented to a colleague recently how it seems when you have to do something, you don’t want to, but when you don’t have to, well, you do. This is how it is with me, and I assume, most everyone.

I hated reading when I was in school, and never did any reading simply because I wanted to. Truth be told, I didn’t do much reading when I was supposed to either. It’s a miracle I succeeded with a formal education.

I now make it a point to read as much as possible. I have a written goal to read a minimum of 25 books per year. I’ll be honest, I can’t name a single character in “The Hunger Games”, “Twilight”, or any other popular fiction series. However, this doesn’t rule out all fiction. I choose to share in the great adventures of Narnia every night as I read with my five-year old Son “The Chronicles of Narnia.” We’re currently in our fourth book!

My personal reading revolves around leadership, personal and organizational development, and inspiration/motivation. In our ever increasingly connected world, I have the privilege of learning from many of the greatest leaders of our time. It is my desire to reach a high pinnacle of personal and professional success, and I believe you have to continuously saturate your mind with the knowledge, experience, and wisdom of those men and women that have provided such great examples of leadership.

So, what am I to do with all this reading? …This is the part where I stare at the screen gripped with fear of being less than perfect with my words. I struggle with the thought that no one will care to read what I write…

And then, when I’m ready to pack up my thoughts and place them in the back of my mind, I read the wisdom of Jon Acuff. In a post he wrote on jonacuff.com, he says, “If your goal is to change the world, you have to share your work in whatever shape or form that might take. And sometimes that means getting comfortable with A -work.”

The fact of the matter is this, I’m crazy enough to believe I can change the world. I’m ready to take action with what I’ve learned from failed opportunities, great successes, incredible mentors, and great books. I’m confident I can affect change one reader at a time.

So, here goes… Welcome to my blog. Please share your thoughts, suggestions, and critiques. I hope you’ll join me on this journey and maybe, just maybe, we’ll change the world together. Be sure to follow me on Twitter @chadro12

About Chad Miller

Christ Follower, Husband, Father. Passionate about developing people to help them reach high levels of success. Love being a part of Life School building leaders for the 21st century.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Journey Begins!

  1. Jesse Guillen says:

    I’ll be reading.

  2. J says:

    Hefe, I am sitting patiently at your feet. Since we can not converse like we use to I’ll have to settle for reading.

Leave a Reply

