Parenting Worth Celebrating Once a Year?

Save the date! Mark your calendars now.

We are approximately one year away from acknowledging our appreciation for Fathers once again. 11 months for our Mothers.

I enjoyed “my day” yesterday. My children make me so unbelievably happy when they’re not driving me nuts. Nevertheless, that’s parenthood. I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Here’s a thought: Shouldn’t we, as parents, be living a life worthy of celebrating every day? Couldn’t we model the type of leadership in our homes that is respected and replicated by our children?

It’s ridiculous to expect a verbal display of daily appreciation and praise, but we can certainly create a parenting life worthy of more frequent fanfare. I’ve decided on three ways to do this as a father:

  1. Be authentic. Do what I say I’m going to do. Children have an incredible memory and will remember the time you said you’d take them to get ice cream and never did.
  2. Be transparent. My children don’t need a macho, bulletproof dad. They need to recognize that I am human. I can apologize for my mistakes as easily as I can breathe belief and optimism into their lives. It’s ironic, when you show your children your humanity, you become Superman (macho and bulletproof).
  3. Most importantly, constantly tell them I love them and I’m happy to be their Daddy! This one takes authenticity and transparency.

I challenge you to live a life worth celebrating daily. It’s contagious. One day your grandchildren will thank you for it.

Add to my list! What are some behaviors you’ll choose to model as a parent? Leave me a comment; I’d love to hear from you.

About Chad Miller

Christ Follower, Husband, Father. Passionate about developing people to help them reach high levels of success. Love being a part of Life School building leaders for the 21st century.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Legacy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

